CROSSFAITH – XENO (Track By Track Walk Through)

“When Artificial Intelligence Meets Human Desperation” – Koie Kenta

11374235_887992187922543_471314074_nRelease Date: September 18, 2015
Label: Razor & Tie, UNFD
Rocks Like: Like SiM, Beartooth, One Ok Rock, My First Story, and Motionless In White
Recommended Track(s): Wildfire, Dystopia, Tears Fall, and Raise Your Voice
Rating: ****1/2

Xeno is the 4th, and latest album released by Japanese metalcore band Crossfaith. Giving their homeland a head start on listening, Xeno was released first in Japan on September 16, 2015, and worldwide two days later on September 18, 2015.

Okay, so it’s no question that this album totally rocks! The first song  appropriately titled “System X” gives a short and beautiful electronic buildup for the album; consider it a teaser of what’s to come. Next  up is the title track “Xeno” which is a fun mixture of that classic Crossfaith sound, with just a few more electronic elements added in. It’s quick paced rhythm grabs the listener by the ears, and urges them to keep listening, making it the perfect album opener.

The next couple songs “Raise Your Voice” and “Devil’s Party” definitely keep up the pace set by “Xeno“. Then the album moves into something a little heavier, while still maintaining that fun hint of electronic play. “Ghost In The Mirroris the fifth song on the album and features Beartooth’s Caleb Shomo bringing home that sweet, sweet metalcore heaviness we all love. It is more geared towards heavy vocals which help to add a punch to the album. Next up, comes “Dystopia” which picks back up on that fun electronic pace while carrying even more heavy vocals.

Here comes the pride of the album, the collaboration “Wildfire with Benji Webbe (Skindred). Perhaps, the ultimate “let’s get this party started” song! It’s beat has that that perfect jump along and rock out rhythm that we here at Remember MEdia are loving! Once you hear it you can’t help but growl along! This song is great to show your more pop music fan friends; it’s catchy, it’s heavy, and it’s perfect for everyone!

Tears Fall” is up next and it is the slowest paced song on the album. It helps to add some sound diversity to the album. The sound itself is like honey pouring through your headphones! “Paint It Black” incorporates a similar buildup to that of “System X“. It serves that ever so awesome purpose of quickening the pace back up. “Vanguard” is the tenth song on the album and is totally a battle song. This song would be placed perfectly in any movie battle scene, it’s fast and heavy and sreams confidence to the listener. Listen to this song while getting ready in the morning, it’s a great pump-up song that will leave you ready to face the day head on!

Calm the Storm” slows the pace back down just a tad to let the listener readjust from the totally awesome butt-kicking that came before. Sadly, it isn’t the most stand out track on the album, yes it’s well written and composed, but really lacks anything special. Finally, we reach “Astral Heaven” which may not have any vocals, but reminds us of those awesome ending credits from a movie; A movie that you’ll definitely go see again and again! This beautiful soundscape ties the album together, and is the perfect conclusion to the Xeno story.

Track Listing:
1. System X
2. Xeno
3. Raise Your Voice
4. Devil’s Party
5. Ghost In the Mirror
6. Dystopia
7. Wildfire
8. Tears Fall
9. Paint It Black
10. Vanguard
11. Calm the Storm
12. Astral Heaven

Band Links:
Official Website:

Have you heard the new album? If so what is your favorite song? Comment below!


One thought on “CROSSFAITH – XENO (Track By Track Walk Through)”

Leave a Reply