Escape The Fate – Ungrateful

Not An Album To Be Overly Grateful For

6b78c9b37f284e926a489ee0d0307845 Release Date: May 14, 2013
Label: Eleven Seven Music
Rocks Like: The Word Alive, Silverstein, & Before Their Eyes
Recommended Track(s): Ungrateful, Picture Perfect, & One For The Money
Rating: **1/2

From a band I can barely recognize anymore, due to a multitude of lineup changes, I think it’s safe to say they finally got rid of anyone and everyone who was addicted to drugs. Yep, that’s right, the boys in Escape The Fate are at it again bringing us Ungrateful, their 3rd studio album since Craig took the reigns as frontman. With only two original members remaining- Robert Ortiz and Brian ‘Monte’ Money, ETF seems to have their line-up and label sorted out, but now are they able to put focus where it counts, writing good music?

“Lyrically, Ungrateful is definitely no masterpiece, the band is just lucky they have Craig Mabbitt on vocals whose compelling voice can make all these disappointing lyrics still sound sexy as hell.”

Seriously I don’t think you could possibly fit in another angsty high school cliché.  Drug abuse, bullying, and broken families Ungrateful has it all covered, making the album wisely relatable. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate a band addressing the issues of today, but you don’t have to try saving the whole world all in one album.

Catchy choruses and definite summer anthems for the Warped Tour generation, this album is full of tracks that will keep existing Escape The Fate fans pleased, but will do little to attract newcomers within the genre. Don’t worry there are thankfully still plenty of Escape The Fate’s signature sounds including a near overabundance of swoon-worthy guitar solos (I swear there is actually one in every song) from Monte and tight, fast-paced drum work by the only other remaining original member Robert Ortiz.

The track listing kicks off strong with the title track and first single ‘Ungrateful’ diving into the album with force, definitely an album highlight right from the beginning. Unfortunately the rest of the album doesn’t keep the momentum going quite the same. In fact many of the more fast-paced songs don’t really do much for me, besides ‘Live Fast And Die Beautiful’ and ‘One For The Money’ being stupidly catchy.

Taking a break from saving rock and roll Fall Out Boy’s Patrick Stump jumped in to work with ETF to write my other favourite track, one of the more melodic and powerful songs on the album ‘Picture Perfect’. Having the assistance of such a strong and talented vocalist is apparent on the track that is laced with beautiful lyrics and melodies that truly showcase Craig’s strength as a vocalist.

The band had the help of some other big names including Brandon Saller of Atreyu, Caleb Shomo formerly of Attack Attack! and Martin Johnson of Boys Like Girls. They even tried writing with Mick Mars of Motley Crue, but decided against using the song as they felt it “didn’t properly represent ETF as a band.”

Overall, I don’t find anything groundbreaking on this album, but rather that Escape The Fate has done what many fans were hoping for from former frontman Ronnie Radke’s Falling In Reverse, an album staying true to their metal-core roots.

Be sure to check out the incredibly touching video for the first single ‘Ungrateful’ here, and remember, we all have the power to make a significant difference in the life of others, one simple act of kindness has he power to change a persons world.


  1. Ungrateful
  2. Until We Die
  3. Live Fast, Die Beautiful
  4. Forget About Me
  5. You’re Insane
  6. Chemical Love
  7. Picture Perfect
  8. Risk It All
  9. Desire
  10. One For The Money
  11. Fire It Up

Band Links:

Leave a Reply