Blessthefall – To Those Left Behind

Listen Up So You Won’t Be Left Behind

Release Date: September 18, 2015

Label: Fearless Records
Rocks Like: We Came As Romans, Veil of Maya, Pierce The Veil
Recommended Track(s): Dead Air, To Those Left Behind, Departures
Rating: ***

Album number 5 for blessthefall hit the shelves this past weekend. “To Those Left Behind” brings about the familiar sound we’ve grown to know and love from these boys. Whether that’s a good or a bad thing is up to you. Check out our review below!

I want to start of by saying kudos to the song order selection on this album. Everything flowed so smooth and great choices were put in prime spots. Let’s just start with commenting on how perfect of an opening track “Decayer” is. When I hit play, I didn’t know if it would be an intro track or a full song because it starts out with that slow buildup we’ve grown to expect of intro tracks, right? But blessthefall turns it around by introducing the screams, leading into Beau Bokan’s clean vocals with a play on the album’s title.

Let’s talk about singles. The band chose to release “Walk on Water” and “Up In Flames” as the albums two main singles prior to release. “Walk On Water” has a sound that almost reminds me of the latest Periphery effort and I’m liking the idea of that tour line up. “Up In Flames” hits hard, so be ready. It’s powerful and upbeat and more than likely going to open a few pits in its time. The two are broken up by the slower track, “Dead Air” which talks a little about letting go and moving on. Something about it’s delivery makes it one of my favorite tracks on the album.

Looking Down From the Edge” has some pretty prominent electronic bits, which I know we can thank Producer Joey Sturgis for and congratulate him on a job well done. They were a nice touch. There’s several uses of electronics in the album but they really stood out to me on this track but without feeling out of place. Let’s talk about the title track though. “To Those Left Behind” makes it clear to see why the band decided to go with this title for the album. When you listen to this one, pay special attention to those drums. If no part of this song makes you want to jump around and move, you might want to find a q-tip or get a hearing check up because come on. Listen to the beauty that is in this song. I think the only track that could have competed with it for title track status would have probably been “Up In Flames.”

Departures” is our closing track. Go figure, with a title like that right? But hold on! I’m not bashing it. I think this was great placement due to the lyrical content of this song. Listen and you’ll hear Beau sing about not giving up and being the guiding light home. It’s powerful and uplifting and a good reminder to keep your chin up even as the album comes to a close. There’s a reason I made this a recommended track. Just trust me. Then, comment below with whether you agree or disagree with me on this.

Track Listing:
1. Decayer
2. Walk on Water
3. Dead Air
4. Up In Flames
5. Against the Waves
6. Looking Down from the Edge
7. Keep What We Love & Burn The Rest
8. Condition // Comatose
9. Oathbreaker
10. To Those Left Behind
11. Departures

Band Links:


Leave a Reply