Escape the Fate – Hate Me

You Surely Won’t Be Hating This Album!

Escape the Fate - Hate Me album coverRelease Date: October 30, 2015
Label: Eleven Seven Music
Rocks like: Blessthefall, Falling in Reverse, Bring Me the Horizon, Asking Alexandria
Recommended Track(s): Just A Memory, Remember Every Scar, Breaking Me Down

We have all experienced hate at some point in our lives, whether we’ve been on the giving or receiving end of this powerful human emotion. It’s no different for bands- musicians are forced to face scrutiny and hate daily, and since they are in the public spotlight there are more people watching their every move, ready to pick apart the things they may disagree with. Think Ronnie vs. Craig drama circa 2008.

In light of the hatred bands face daily via tabloids/social media, it has become a common topic, and song after song have been produced discussing the matter. Escape the Fate is no exception, taking it one step further and dedicating their latest album to the theme; ‘Hate Me’.

While the theme is centered around hate with tracks as obvious as ‘Hate Me‘, and then with it as a more underlying note in ‘Just A Memory and ‘Breaking Me Down, it does also fuse uplifting and empowering tracks such as ‘Remember Every Scar with the lyrics: Hold on to that heartbreak, Hold on to that hell you have to pay, All the tragedy has made you who you are.

Hate Me has a very different sound in relation to previous Escape The Fate albums, in that it not only has a more obvious and prominent theme, but it is also lacking the more melodic pop/jam vibe they are distinctively known for, as well as the comfort of Mabbit’s constant scream vocals. While this change may upset some people, it serves as a turning point for Escape the Fate to branch out and experiment with different styles. Sticking to the old is boring, change stimulates growth, and encourages new experiences.

If you were not inspired, or rather impressed by my attempt at an inspirational quote and still just want some good ol’ Escape the Fate, the album has that covered with the track ‘Redline‘ which will have you feeling nostalgic in no time.

Although this album is geared more towards a hard rock sound; it does still incorporate Mabbit’s smooth clean vocals, with a few harsh vocals still intact, and Thrasher’s protruding guitar riffs are ever apparent making for that familiar Escape the Fate sound.

As trendy as it is in the post-hardcore genre nowadays, more and more again were seeing vocals being so digitally enhanced/manipulated it’s harder and harder to actually connect to the personal message of the music.

“Craig has always had an amazing voice and range, but we really wish you could have heard more of it on ‘Hate Me’ and a little less of the over-done vocal smoke and mirrors.”

Yes, I too miss the old Escape the Fate but I do love this new sound they’re testing with. I’ve been on their journey since Ronnie was part of it (no I was never team either – they’re both amazing artists in their own right); I’ve seen more than just the sound change; so trust me when I say that, this is a good change!

Which track is your favourite? Let us know in the comments below!

Track Listing:
1. Hate Me
2. Live for Today
3. Remember Every Scar
4. Breaking Me Down
5. Alive
6. Get Up, Get Out
7. Hate Me
8. Les Enfants Terribles (The Terrible Children)
9. I Won’t Break
10. Let Me Be

Bonus Tracks:
11. Redline
12. End Of The World

Band Links
Official Website:

Rasha Signature

Leave a Reply