Simple Plan – Taking One For The Team

Be A Part Of The Team!

Simple_Plan_Taking_One_For_The_TeamRelease Date: February 19, 2016
Label: Atlantic Records
Rocks like:  Blink-182, The All-American Rejects, Bowling For Soup, Good Charlotte
Recommended tracks: Opinion Overload, Boom!, Farewell, Nostalgic, Perfectly Perfect & P.S. I Hate You

Simple Plan- A band any 90’s kid was familiar with, and every fan couldn’t get enough of. So while this Canadian born band was initially more punk than pop back in the day, they definitely have been exploring the more pop side of pop punk in recent years, including their previous album, Get Your Heart On!

Taking One For The Team however encompasses both punk and pop tracks, which is ideal for both genre of fans.

While their punk tracks will have you thinking back to the days of ‘Welcome To My Life‘, ‘I’m Just A Kid’, ‘Perfect’ and ‘Shut Up!’, they have have updated their sound with a modern  twist, and even hinted at some edginess, seldom as it may be. The tracks that encapsulate that are: ‘Opinion Overload’,Farewell’, ‘Nostalgic’, ‘I Don’t Wanna Be Sad’ and ‘P.S. I Hate You’.

“Not only do these tracks have that familiar throwback sound, but they also include all the relatable pity-life-sucking-nobody-understands-me lyrics that we fell in love with.  The true essence of Simple Plan.”

Side note, the track ‘Nostalgic’ has a Bowling For Soup kinda feel to it. Something about Pierre’s voice makes him sound a lot a little like Jaret Reddick. It’s pretty awesome! Definitely a perfect name for a song that will take you wayyyy back!

The album also boasts songs the have a fusion of both pop and punk with a hint of reggae mixed in as well, as you can hear with the tracks ‘Summer Paradise’, ‘Boom’,Everything Sucks’, ‘I Don’t Wanna Be Sad’ and ‘Singing In The Rain’. If you haven’t seen it yet, be sure to check out the music video for ‘Boom‘ which features pop punk a-listers like  All Time Low, Black Veil Brides, Pierce The Veil, PVRIS and more!

Taking One For The Team also has a few noteworthy collaborations with some very popular artists, such as: Farewell’ ft. Jordan Pundik (New Found Glory), ‘Singing in the Rain’ ft. R. City, ‘I Don’t Wanna Go To Bed’ ft. Nelly, and ‘I Dream About You’ ft. Juliet Simms- a smart move as it both enhances the album, and attracts fans of other genres.

For those who liked the more slow sounding songs with piano ballads from past albums like ‘Save Me’, ‘Untitled’ and ‘Astronaut’, the tracks ‘Perfectly Perfect’ andProblem Child’ are for you. They definitely stand out as SP sooth tracks that will bridge you to the next high energy pop/punk ones.  However, if you’re looking for a strong duet track like ‘Jet Lag’ with Natasha Bedingfield, ‘I Dream About You’ with Juliet Simms is a must listen. Absolutely beautiful!

No matter how much they experiment with shifting genres, Simple Plan are always recognizable with a unique sound that appeals to both a variety of audiences, and a variety of ages, giving them a sort of staying power. Not to mention, they’re a band that still have all the original members, which is pretty rare these days. Therefore, seeing them create new music together that is ever changing with the times, is most definitely refreshing. Dare we say they make a rad team?

Track Listing:
1. Opinion Overload
2. Boom!
3. Kiss Me Like Nobody’s Watching
4. Farewell (ft. Jordan Pundik)
5. Singing In The Rain (ft. R. City)
6.  Everything Sucks
7. I Refuse
8. I Don’t Wanna Go To Bed (ft. Nelly)
9. Nostalgic
10. Perfectly Perfect
11. I Don’t Wanna Be Sad
12. P.S. I Hate You
13. Problem Child
14. I Dream About You (ft. Juliet Simms)
15.  I Don’t Wanna Go To Bed (ft. Nelly) – French Version

So now that you have the break down of what took look forward to on the album, which tracks are you going to check out?

P.S. While their punk tracks are my favourite, their pop ones, are too damn catchy not to love!

Follow Simple Plan below to be part of the team!

Official Website:
Stream the album here on Spotify!

Leave a Reply