Wildways – Into The Wild

From Russia With Love Comes The Booty-Shaking, Ass-Quaking, Twerkcore Charm Of Wildways

WILDWAYS(1)Release Date: March 25, 2016
Label: Artery Recordings
Rocks Like: Linkin Park, Attila, Asking Alexandria, Hollywood Undead
Recommended Track(s): Skins, Don’t Give Up Your Guns, Wings


Этот альбом очень хорошо! Я собираюсь написать весь этот обзор на русском языке. Просто шучу , это было бы глупо!

Never judge a book by it’s cover, or Wildways by their first single.

“You’ve undoubtedly heard (or saw) the booty shaking, bra downpour in slowmo, sexy watermelon eating/rubbing on bodies, “twerkcore” music video that is ‘Faka Faka Yeah’ by Moscow, Russia natives Wildways.”

And if you haven’t, I guarantee your typing the title into your YouTube search bar as we speak.

If I can tell you one thing before you stop reading this review all together ‘Fake Faka Yeah’ IS THE ONLY SONG ON THIS ENTIRE ALBUM THAT ACTUALLY SOUNDS LIKE THIS! If any of you are familiar with the bands previous work, released under the name Sarah Where Is My Tea you will know that this song is highly out of character. These guys are formerly known for a much more familiar North American metalcore sound, full of crashing drums, techy guitar riffs, and growly uncleans, harmonized alongside soaring melodies.

From a business side, I haven’t yet decided if it was absolute stupidity, or an act of strategic brilliance releasing ‘Faka Faka Yeah‘ as the first single. Think about it, this video went viral overnight, and everyone, everywhere had something to say about the Brokencyde-esque (but with a whole lot better production value, ie. not made in the basements of their parents home) feeling of the new guys from Russia.

The moral of the story is Wildways have been highly misrepresented by the release of their notorious single ‘Faka Faka Yeah’ which I personally can’t say the title of without feeling like an absolute idiot. The band are actually much more serious and talented than this initial track portrays. In fact, I was surprised at how catchy this album actually was.

Backed by some serious star power, Into The Wild was produced by Cameron Mizell, producer extraordinaire who has worked with bands like Sleeping With Sirens, The Word Alive, and Memphis May Fire (to name a few). And if that’s not enough, Denis Shaforostov of Asking Alexandria has played a big roll in mentoring the guys for their entrance into the North American market. This album is also littered with familiar faces and voices, the track ‘What You Feel’ features Lou Miceli of Palisades, and ‘Princess’ features Rebecca Need-Menear of Anavae from London, UK.

Into The Wild is nearly impossible to fit into a genre with its vast diversity in sound. However, despite the broad spectrum of different musical styles the album remains fluid and energetic, with nothing feeling out of place. Having been compared to a modern day Linkin Park during some tracks, other genres the band dabbles in include metalcore, rap, post-hardcore, electronicore, and maybe even some pop, making Into The Wild a versatile album that will undoubtedly attract a number of different fans.

Immediately, with the introduction of ‘Skins‘ the album stops sounding like Brokencyde and starts sounding a lot more….well…good. This album opener does a great job in building up the listener before opening out into an epic and catchy track, the plucky strings, and big gang vocals (which were apparently done heavily intoxicated according to an interview with frontman Toli Wild) add a nice dimension, and contrast of soft and strong.

Don’t Give Up Your Guns’ hits with what I’ve been waiting for all album. Busting out their native tongue and throwing a little Russian flavour into the mix with the help of Russian rap-star Тони Раут who gust stars on the track. Think Hollywood Undead but Russian, no one will have any idea what they’re saying but it just sounds soon damn swaggy… yes “swaggy”.

Towards the end of the album ‘Wings’ slows it down significantly and is actually a really beautiful ballad, which is leaps and bounds from the silly and somewhat impossible to take serious fist single. One of my favourite aspects of the entire album is when you catch glimpses of frontman Toli Wild’s Russian accent which I find incredibly charming, and opportune in giving the band a very unique vocal sound.

Ending the album is ‘Not Alone‘, a lyrically inspiring track with plenty of room for a heavy breakdown or two before sending the album off with a delicate orchestral instrumental.

“My initial thoughts when I was sent this album was that I was about to witness some thoughtless Russian mafia, Attila rip-off album, but alas I was wrong.”

Basically, what it comes down to is whether or not you can forgive Wildways for ‘Faka Faka Yeah’ and give them and Into The Wild a second chance. You’re going to have to trust me on this one, but I think its worth a shot! And who knows, maybe if you give it 10 shots….of vodka… you may even start to like the song ‘Faka Faka Yeah’ too!

Track Listing:

  1. Skins
  2. 3 Seconds To Go
  3. Faka Faka Yeah
  4. Sirens
  5. What You Feel
  6. Slow Motion
  7. D.O.I.T.
  8. Princess
  9. Don’t Give Up Your Guns
  10. Illusions & Mirrors
  11. Wings
  12. Not Alone

Band Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/wildwaysofficial
Twitter: https://twitter.com/wildwaysband
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/wildwaysofficial


Leave a Reply