Bring Me The Horizon – That’s The Spirit

We’ve Got Spirit. Yes We Do! We’ve Got Spirit. How about you?


Release Date:
September 11, 2015
Label: Columbia/Sony
Rocks Like: Every Time I Die, Of Mice & Men
Recommended Track(s): Throne, True Friends, Follow You

Finally! It feels like we’ve been waiting for this album forever, right? Fear not. Bring Me The Horizon’s new album, “That’s The Spirit” is available now and we’re here to review it for you. Keep reading!

“That’s The Spirit” has been highly anticipated this year. The hype started with the release of the single “Drown” last October. While at first it was supposed to be a stand alone track, Bring Me The Horizon decided to re-record it and include it on the full length. So let’s jump into this review! After we clarify a few things…

First. This isn’t the same Bring Me The Horizon as “Suicide Season”. Second. This isn’t the same Bring Me The Horizon as “Sempiternal”. Third. That is not a bad thing. If you grabbed this album expecting an hour of Oli Sykes screaming like it’s “Chelsea Smile” all over again, put it back. You’re not going to get what you came for. However, if you have open ears and can listen to the same artist alter their style a little bit, please, put on your headphones. You heard the singles “Drown,” “Happy Song,” and “Throne.” Those three give you a pretty good idea of how the rest of the album is going to sound. We like it. How about you? (See, I’m trying to incorporate the cheerleaders from this album. Is it working?)

Let’s talk first about that cheerleading inclusion. You hear the chants most in “Happy Song” with the cheerleaders calling out “S-P-I-R-I-T! Spirit! Let’s hear it!” But if you listen closely, you hear the same group vocals in several songs on the album. Truly amazing if you ask us. It’s subtle enough to go unnoticed, but provides a link to all the songs on the album, so if you listen to just one song you’ll still be able to remember “hey! This song’s on ‘That’s the Spirit!’” How many songs that you’re not absolutely obsessed with can you name the exact album it comes from? BMTH made it easy for you to do just that.

This album is going to energize you. “Throne” “Happy Song” and “True Friends” are powerhouse tracks that make you want to kick down a door, open a mosh pit or punch a pillow. Or all three. At the same time. The heavy hitting guitars give you that old hardcore taste you know and love when you think Bring Me The Horizon. Sure, Oli’s vocal style has changed but this is still the same band you love. Don’t give them a hard time for converting over from screams to cleans.

Wanna slow it down a bit? That’s where “Follow You” and “Drown” come in. These ones are slower jams and be prepared for them to hit you right where it hurts. We might have teared up a little bit. Okay, that’s not true, but they are emotional songs for sure. We like that sort of thing. Plus it provides the album with a nice sense of variety.

It didn’t make the recommended tracks section, but definitely don’t miss “Run.” It’s a little slower but this song is simply amazing. One of our favorites off the album for sure.

The final consensus here is that “That’s The Spirit” lived up to the hype it has obtained since the release was announced. We’re far from disappointed with the turn out of this album. Go from “Sempiternal” to “That’s the Spirit” and it’s not hard to see the direction BMTH is trying to go in. We think they’re doing pretty good. What do you think?

Track Listing:

1. Doomed
2. Happy Song
3. Throne
4. True Friends
5. Follow You
6. What You Need
7. Avalanche
8. Run
9. Drown
10. Blasphemy
11. Oh No

Band Links:


Leave a Reply