Twenty One Pilots – Blurryface

This Album Will Leave You Far From Stressed Out

06b22b0ffde207994134c6d4d2f282b6.600x600x1Release Date: May 19, 2015
Label: Fueled By Ramen
Rocks Like: fun., Panic At The Disco
Recommended Track(s):Stressed Out, Doubt, Message Man
Rating: ****

Where do we even begin with one of the most anticipated albums of 2015-  Twenty One Pilots- Blurryface?  This album was set to drop on May 19th, but Josh Dun and Tyler Joseph got impatient and released it two days early. Fueled By Ramen certainly have their hands full with these two, as many may remember their antics during their performance at the 2014’s APMAs. Here’s our take on their latest effort- Blurryface.

Let me start by saying I went into this review having never heard a single song by Twenty One Pilots. I had absolutely no idea what to expect when I hit play on the opening track ‘Heavydirtysoul’, and I must say, I was pleasantly surprised. A rush of electronics as well as some gentle old school reggae, hip hop vibes were the first things to hit me. It certainly sets the mood for the rest of the album intriguing the listener with it’s unique, unparalleled sound.

Blurryface flows together seamlessly; there are no abrupt endings or dramatic jumps from track to track providing an easy listening experience to anyone within earshot. That being said, each song has a bridge that throws the whole track for a loop, keeping any listener on their toes. There were a few songs where it was hard to believe the interlude was still part of the same song! Don’t get us wrong though, that’s what we love about this album! Though the change of pace and tone may sometimes be unexpected, they all  fit perfectly  into their corresponding song like a puzzle piece.

“Twenty One Pilots worked with four different producers on this album, each adding their own personal repertoire of respective talent, and then combining with Tyler and Josh’s multi-directional charm to create an incredibly diverse, fascinating, and intelligent album.”

And let’s give a round of applause to the electronic production present on this album. Well done! But electronics aren’t the only sounds present on Blurryface. Tracks like ‘Tear In My Heart’ and ‘Goner’ really show off Tyler Joseph’s and Josh Dun’s impeccable instrument skills, with a predominant focus on drums and piano.

All in all, this album was put together extremely well. The album title itself can be heard in several songs throughout, all tying back to the underlying theme. Each song tells a different part of the story, allowing the listener an in depth look into the way Tyler Joseph thinks and speaks on impossible standards set by today’s society. “I’ve got two faces, Blurry’s the one I’m not.”

Blurryface is available for full stream on Spotify, Google Play, Amazon Music and iTunes. Give it a listen and tell us what you think!

Track Listing:

1. Heavydirtysoul
2. Stressed Out
3. Ride
4. Fairly Local
5. Tear In My Heart
6. Lane Boy
7. The Judge
8. Doubt
9. Polarize
10. We Don’t Believe What’s On TV
11. Message Man
12. Hometown
13. Not Today
14. Goner

Band Links:

Leave a Reply